National LifeSmarts Championship 2018 Wrap up

Three-peat Champions: Dallas High School, Dallas, PA

Congratulations to all of the teams, students, coaches, and coordinators who took home team and individual honors at the 2018 National LifeSmarts Championship held this month in San Diego, CA.

Champions: Dallas High School, Pennsylvania

Team Members: Matt Metzloff (Captain), Raymond Perez, Vidhan Dhol, Hannah Wolfe, Caleb Sweitzer
Coach Kevin West

Second Place: ‘Iolani School, Hawaii

2nd Place: Hawaii

Team Members: Kevan Elias (Captain), Sean Callahan, Bryson Choi, Vance Hamada, Norton Kishi
Coach James Rubasch

Third Place: Maize South High School, Kansas

3rd Place: Kansas

Team members: Tim Dobson (Captain), Sam Harder, Ashley Pritchard, Cale Thimmesch, Jordan Tran
Coach Jean Conkling

Third Place: Mascoma Valley Regional High School, New Hampshire

3rd Place: New Hampshire

Team members: Lukus Labrie (Captain), Justin Andrew, Nicholas Arnold, Ian Briand, Raymond Gonzalez
Coach Shawn Joyce

  • Arizona
  • North Dakota
  • Rhode Island
  • Wisconsin

Last Smarty Winners, from L to R: Anson Yip, Deborah Walters, and Luke Lynch, with LifeSmarts staff and ConsumerMan Herb Weisbaum

Last Smarty Standing

  • 1st: Anson Yip, Massachusetts
  • 2nd: Deborah Walters, Virginia
  • 3rd: Luke Lynch, Michigan

Topic Assessment Winners

  • Consumer Rights and Responsibilities
    • 1st Place: Sam Harder, KS
    • 2nd Place: Hannah Wolfe, PA
    • 3rd Place: Kalen Christensen, ND
    • 4th Place: Justin Cobb, MO
    • 5th Place: Brendan Baker, MA
  • Environment

    Topic Winners, from L to R: Jonathan Zhang (RI), technology; Sam Harder (KS), consumer rights; Raymond Perez (PA), health and safety; Tim Dobson (KS), personal finance; and Matt Metzloff (PA), environment

    • 1st Place: Matt Metzloff, PA
    • 2nd Place: Annika Kelly, RI
    • 3rd Place: Cris Dupre, ND
    • 4th Place: Sean Callahan, HI
    • 5th Place: Raymond Gonzalez, NH
  • Health and Safety
    • 1st Place: Raymond Perez, PA
    • 2nd Place: Daniel Sheinberg, RI
    • 3rd Place: Hannah Schroeder, MO
    • 4th Place: Jared Gerety, AZ
    • 5th Place: Courtnay Kiecker, ND
  • Personal Finance
    • 1st Place: Tim Dobson, KS

      State Coordinator of the Year: Cheryl Varnadoe

    • 2nd Place: Norton Kishi, HI
    • 3rd Place: Michael Lamontagne, RI
    • 4th Place: Matthew Loynes, NC
    • 5th Place: Caleb Sweitzer, PA
  • Technology
    • 1st Place: Jonathan Zhang, RI
    • 2nd Place: James Alwin, WI
    • 3rd Place: Anson Yip, MA
    • 4th Place: Nicholas Arnold, NH
    • 5th Place: Dalton Wright, MO

Student of the Year: Matt Metzloff

Student of the Year: Emma Boessen

Students of the Year

  • Emma Boessen, Missouri
  • Matt Metzloff, Pennsylvania

Coach of the Year: Sam Schachter

Coach of the Year: Don Zabelin

Coaches of the Year

  • Sam Schachter, Rhode Island
  • Don Zabelin, Illinois

Coordinator of the Year

  • Cheryl Varnadoe, Georgia

Sarah Weinberg Memorial Scholarship 

  • Lekabul Abel, District of Columbia

Safety Smart scholarship winners

Safety Smart Scholarship winners

  • Katherine Hilty, Rhode Island
  • Courtnay Kiecker, North Dakota
  • Austin Lin, Delaware
  • Ritik Patel, New Jersey
  • Lauren Pike, Wild Card #2, Walker County Georgia 4-H
  • Destinee Smith, West Virginia
  • Rachelle White, West Virginia
  • Anson Yip, Massachusetts

Essay Contest Winners

  • 1st Place: Anastasia Pahno, Georgia (middle school program)
  • 2nd Place: Helen Pahno, Georgia
  • 3rd Place: Emma Boessen, Missouri

T-shirt Contest Winners

  • Virginia, Judges Choice
  • Wild Card #2, Walker County Georgia 4-H, People’s Choice

Twitter contest winners

Twitter Contest Winners

  • Mary Mullikin @marygoround82
  • BHS LifeSmarts @lifebhs
  • Sahvanna Mease @measeFACS